bainbridge island dating
Intense emotions, raging hormones and the pressures of a highly promiscuous teen culture can push almost any child into early sexual involvement. But for young people in Arizona, the legal consequences of forbidden sexual activity can be completely life-shattering. Sadly, all it takes to turn a teenage romance into a nightmare that never ends is a single complaint to the police from an angry parent or a jilted boyfriend or girlfriend. Age of sexual consent is the age at which a state says a person can agree to engage in sexual activity.
Twenty-five states set the age of consent at 16, eight states set it at 17, and Arizona is one of seven states that set the age of consent at This means that any person 17 years old or younger in our state, unless legally married, is considered incapable of agreeing to sexual behavior and therefore any sexual behavior they are engaged dating a shy awkward girl heterosexual or homosexual is illegal. The laes criminal charge in our state is felony Sexual Dating someone the same age with a Minor, commonly known in other states as statutory rape.
Penalties for juvenile sex offenders include incarceration and mandatory enrollment as a sex offender at least lawss the age of Penalties for anyone 18 or 19 years old and not in high school are much stiffer, requiring prison time and mandatory sex offender registry for life. There are two defenses to this charge in Arizona which have tulare ca dating bearing on teenage romances.
The first, described in A. However, if the age difference is greater than 24 months, by even one day, charges can be brought, potentially against both parties. If a 19 year old who is not in high school is involved with a minor of datnig age, charges can be filed against the older party. Finally, and this is important, the state believes that under no circumstances can a child 14 or under consent to sexual activity.
Therefore, if anyone of any age, including another 14 year old, engages in sexual activity with someone 14 or younger, charges can be filed. Certainly, anytime non- consensual sexual activity occurs, additional and extremely serious felony sex assault charges will be filed against the offending party. The second defense is the Mistaken Identity rule. They engage in sexual behavior which according to A. The girl tells her friend who tells her mother who calls the police because she the girl to be 15, not That boy could well be charged because even though he was mistaken about agd age, he should have made reasonable attempts to determine her age.
Did he question her family or friends about her age? This cautionary tale is real — it happened to the child of friend of mine. We can be grateful also that these defenses were created by our legislators on spare young people in consensual, close-in-age relationships from being treated as predators under the law. Please share dwting laws and defenses with your children as soon as possible; pull out a multi-year calendar and make certain your children understand the 24 month age difference that should always be respected in their choice of a romantic partner.
Make certain your children over 19 and not in high school realize that the only legal choices for them are young women dating in tri cities washington men age 18 and older. Safe sex saves lives as well as future hopes and dreams. Charges of sexual misconduct are extremely serious for young people and adults, and require expert representation by skilled attorneys with arizonaa in the field. Your Family and the Law is written by Claudia Gilburd, founder of Teen Law School, Inc.
Teen Law School presents informative seminars for teens and parents on the local, state and federal laws that pertain to typical teenage behavior. For more information or to request a seminar in your area, please visit www. We've helped thousands of people find solutions to problems. You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve monogamous dating experience.